精華區beta BridgeClub 關於我們 聯絡資訊
Appeal No. 18 Austria v Sweden Appeals Committee: Bobby Wolff (Chairman, USA), Herman De Wael (Scribe, Belgium), Joan Gerard (USA), Jeffrey Polisner (USA), Nissan Rand (Israel) Open Teams Round of 16 - second session Board 27. Dealer South. Nobody Vulnerable. A 6 A K 5 A K J 10 6 5 3 6 10 8 5 4 Q 10 6 4 Q J 8 3 2 Q 9 8 7 A K 9 7 3 Q 8 4 2 K J 9 7 3 2 9 7 2 4 J 10 5 West North East South Wernle Sylvan KriftnerSundelin 2D (1) Pass 3D (2) Pass 3S (3) Pass 4C Pass 5C Pass 5D All Pass Comments: (1) Multi (2) GF (or nearly) with diamonds (3) Weak 2 in spades, without diamond support Contract: Five diamonds, played by South Lead: King of Clubs Result: 11 tricks, NS +400 TD's statement of Facts: The Director was called after the board had been played and scored, when West complained that he had not been told that four clubs showed shortness. The Director: The director, who was sitting at the table to check on the time problems, found that West should have called as soon as the dummy became visible, and concluded that there was no damage. Ruling: Result Stands Relevant Laws: Law 40C East/West appealed. Present: All players The Players: North/South explained their system. After the forcing three diamond response to the Multi, three spades showed spades without diamond support, whereas four diamonds would show spades with diamond support. There were a few sequences after which four clubs would be ace asking, and North had mistakenly thought this was one of them. When he heard the response of five clubs, North did realize his mistake, but found no occasion to give any explanations about this, as the bidding was by now over. South had explained the bid of four clubs as natural, and his reply of five clubs as support. West's reasoning about the club lead being obvious, he concentrated on explaining how he would have found the spade lead with a more correct explanation. If four clubs is conventional, either cue or ace asking, North may show a secondary spade fit, and few club losers. That means that partner must be short in spades, and that the Ace of Clubs is needed as an entry for the spade ruff (if East has the right diamond holding). West stated that South had apologized about forgetting it was ace asking. South objected to that, stating he had said that partner had thought it was ace asking. West also pointed out that South had not alerted three spades. South agreed that he hadn't, because he thought this was not necessary. He now understood that since it denied diamonds, it should have been alerted, and he apologized for the failure to alert. The Committee: Checked the system notes. These clearly indicate the responses of three/four diamonds and four clubs over the forcing three of a minor as indicating minor support and showing the correspondent major. They also explain that three of a major denies the minor support. They indicate the use of Redwood or Blackwood in many situations. The bid of four clubs, or any other third round bid, is not discussed. The Committee then had to decide whether or not four clubs was conventional in the system of North/South, taking under consideration their duty under Law 75 to presume Mistaken Explanation, rather than Mistaken Bid in the absence of evidence to the contrary. By a majority decision, 3-2, the Committee decided that the evidence that was presented was sufficient to conclude Mistaken Bid. The Committee then applied the Law, which is very clear on this point. Since there is no misinformation, there is no basis to adjust the score. The Committee's decision: Original table result retained Deposit: Returned Minority Opinion: a minority within the Committee, Bobby Wolff and Nissan Rand, wished to make it clear that since the bid was not in the system notes, it should be termed a Mistaken Explanation. In that case, they felt an adjustment of some percentage of a spade lead and subsequent defeat of the contract would have been their preferred ruling. -- ※ 發信站: 批踢踢實業坊(ptt.twbbs.org) ◆ From: ms10.hinet.net