作者wsan (花火)
看板NY-Yankees
標題[外電] Dana DeMuth: “Do it. Throw it into...
時間Wed Apr 6 13:00:55 2016
http://goo.gl/d8dHdN
Dana DeMuth: “Do it. Throw it into the runner’s back.”
By Bill Baer Apr 5, 2016, 9:12 PM EDT
Yankees manager Joe Girardi had his team play Tuesday’s season opener under
protest after home plate umpire Dana DeMuth refused to call out Carlos Correa
for interference during the eighth inning. Correa had hit a weak tapper up
the first base line and reached safely when pitcher Dellin Betances made an
inaccurate throw that sailed past first baseman Mark Teixeira. Correa was
running to the left of the baseline on the grass, and Betances likely threw
high because he couldn’t get the ball to Teixeira otherwise.
The play was not reviewable and DeMuth wouldn’t reverse his decision despite
Girardi’s very animated plea. The non-call ended up hurting the Yankees as
Jose Altuve scored on the play, and the Astros would go onto score two more
runs in the inning. They ended up winning 5-3.
After the game, DeMuth was asked about the call, and he steadfastly refused
to admit that Correa committed any kind of an infraction. Kenny Ducey of
Sports Illustrated and Baseball Prospectus posted a picture of the postgame
quotes sheet:
Notably, when said that if Correa wasn’t guilty of interference, Betances’
only other option — aside from making a high throw — was to throw it
directly into Correa’s back. DeMuth responded, “Do it. Throw it into the
runner’s back. Because then what’s happening? He is impeding.”
Rule 5.09(a)(11) states that a runner is out when:
In running the last half of the distance from home base to first base,
while the ball is being fielded to first base, he runs outside (to the right
of ) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of ) the foul line, and in
the umpire’s judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the
throw at first base, in which case the ball is dead; except that he may run
outside (to the right of ) the three-foot line or inside (to the left of )
the foul line to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball;
The key phrase is “the fielder taking the throw at first base”. Betances
made such a poor throw that it was uncatchable; Teixeira never had a chance
to take the throw. According to the language of this rule, Correa didn’t
interfere with anything, even though he very clearly ran inside the base line
in the final 45 feet. Betances’ throw was certainly impacted by Correa’s
path, but that isn’t covered.
Ultimately, DeMuth made the right call. It’s a shame the play wasn’t
reviewable, and interference shouldn’t be dependent on the ability for the
fielder to take a throw, but those are separate issues that could be covered
after the season.
==
是還蠻有趣的...
跑在線內,但沒有結果的 "真的被砸到",所以未造成妨礙守備。
只看到小B把球丟高傳壞了...
話說跑在線內同樣也會影響到一壘手接球的視線吧。
好吧... 一切都是因為 沒 有 砸 到...XD
--
※ 發信站: 批踢踢實業坊(ptt.cc), 來自: 122.116.183.126
※ 文章網址: https://www.ptt.cc/bbs/NY-Yankees/M.1459918857.A.07A.html
※ 編輯: wsan (122.116.183.126), 04/06/2016 13:03:15
推 ohmyya : 99麥砸下去 04/06 13:31
→ slow1976 : 以後跑在線內只好讓他再也不能打棒球囉 04/06 13:46
推 louie83279 : 以後看到妨礙守備就直接往頭上砸 04/06 14:06
→ charlie01 : 是也不用這種言論吧... 04/06 14:15
→ wsan : 當然不贊成這種態度 會發此篇主要是討論 "跑壘員於 04/06 15:00
→ wsan : 前往一壘的路徑是否得由結果而推論妨礙守備" 04/06 15:01
→ wsan : 在這場比賽中 主審的確是由結果來進行裁定並未影響 04/06 15:02
→ wsan : 也許在規定上可以修改得更為明確 界定清楚了 04/06 15:04
推 loveleexx : 是不需要到猛砸啦 但是就是一個觀念 04/06 16:51
推 OoyaoO : 輸一場學到一個觀念 下次就直球直接砸頭讓跑者也上 04/06 19:18
→ OoyaoO : 一課 04/06 19:18
噓 LuisSeverino: 是我就砸 04/06 19:29